July 1998 SMETE Workshop Attendee List

The following is list of participants who attended the SMETE Workshop. The last update to this list was done on August 13, 1998.

Tryg Ager
IBM Almaden Research Center
650 Harry Road
San Jose, CA 95122

Phone: 408-957-2370
Fax: 408-927-3497
Email: tryg@almaden.ibm.com

Alice Agogino
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
University of California, Berkeley
5136 Etcheverry Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720

Phone: 510-642-6450
Fax: 510-643-1822
Email: aagogino@me.berkeley.edu
(Member of the Steering Committee)

William Y. Arms
Vice President, Corporation for National Research Initiatives
1895 Preston White Drive
Suite 100
Reston, VA 22091

Phone: 703-620-8990
Fax: 703-620-0913
Email: warms@cnri.reston.va.us
(Member of the Steering Committee)

Daniel E. Atkins
Dean, School of Information
Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
University of Michigan
304 West Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1092

Phone: 734-647-3576
Fax: 734-764-2475
Email: atkins@umich.edu

Nelson Baker
Georgia Tech
School of Civil & Environmental Engineering
790 Atlantic Drive
Atlanta, GA 30332-0355

Phone: 404-894-2223
Fax: 404-894-2278
Email: nelson.baker@ce.gatech.edu

Robert V. Blystone
Trinity University
Dept. of Biology
715 Stadium Drive
San Antonio, TX 78212

Phone: 210-736-7243
Fax: 210-736-7229
Email: rblyston@trinity.edu

Greg Bothun
Department of Physics
University of Oregon
Eugene OR 97405

Phone: 541-346-2569
Fax: 541-346-5861
Email: nuts@moo2.uoregon.edu

Alan Cairns
7308 48th Ave. N.E.
Seattle, WA 98115

Phone: 206-524-7363
Fax: 206-524-7822 (Call first)
Email: cairns@astro.washington.edu
Statement to follow

Lillian N. (Boots) Cassel
4201 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22230

Phone: 703-306-1669
Fax: 703-306-0445
Email: lcassel@nsf.gov
(after 9/25/98, please use cassel@acm.org)

Sally Chapman
Chemistry Department
Barnard College
3009 Broadway
New York, NY 10017

Phone: 212-854-2098
No fax
Email: schapman@barnard.columbia.edu

Ching-chih Chen
Simmons College
300 The Fenway
Boston, MA 02115

Phone: 617-521-2804
Fax: 617-521-3192

Norman Chonacky
The Evergreen State College
MS/ Lib 3220
Olympia, WA 98505

Phone: 360-866-6000 x5028
Fax: 360-866-6823
Email: chonacky@evergreen.edu

Carol A. Christian
Director, Office of Public Outreach
Space Telescope Science Institute
3700 San Martin Drive
Baltimore, MD 21218

Phone: 410-338-4764
Fax: 410-338-4579
Email: carolc@stsci.edu

John V. Clevenger
Truckee Meadows Community College
RDMT 321
7000 Dandini Boulevard
Reno, NV 89512

Phone:: 702-673-7197
Fax: 702-674-7901
Email: clevenge@scs.unr.edu

Melanie M. Cooper
Clemson University
271 Hunter Laboratories
Clemson, SC 29634

Phone: 864-656-2573
Fax: 864-656-6613
Email: cmelani@clemson.edu

Dr. Brian P. Coppola
The University of Michigan
Department of Chemistry
Room 2403 Chemistry Bldg.
930 North University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1055

Phone: 734-764-7329
Fax: 734-647-4865
Email: bcoppola@umich.edu

Claire Cornell
University of Iowa
College of Liberal Arts
College of Business Administration
Graduate College
130 Schaeffer Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242

Phone: 319-335-2609
Fax: 319-335-3862
Email: claire-cornell@uiowa.edu

Gregory Crane
Associate Professor
Director, Perseus Project
Department of Classics
Eaton Hall
Tufts University
Medford, MA 02155

Phone: 617 627 3830
Fax: 617 627 3032
Email: gcrane@medusa.perseus.tufts.edu

Dr. Patricia A. Cunniff
Dean, Division of Sciences, Mathematics and Health Technology
Prince George's Community College
301 Largo Road
Largo, MD 20774-2199

Phone: 301-322-0736
Fax: 301-336-2851
Email: pc2@pgstumail.pg.cc.md.us
(Member of the Steering Committee)

Ben Domenico
Unidata Deputy Director
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307

Phone: 303-497-8631
Fax: 303-497-8690
Email: ben@unidata.ucar.edu

Dave Douglass
Pasadena City College
1570 Colorado Blvd.
Pasadena, CA 91106

Phone: 626-585-7036
Fax: 626-585-7960 dndouglass@paccd.cc.ca.us

Jason M. Edington
(Address until 7/31/98)
Kennedy Onassis Hall #702
2222 'Eye' St., N.W.
Washington, DC 20037

(Address after 7/31/98)
30001 Monteras St.
Laguna Niguel, CA 92677

Phone: 202-242-0846 (Washington) 949-495-2426 (California)
Email: jedingto@nsf.gov or edingtonj@aol.com (Washington)
Email after 7/31/98 itutoryou@juno.com

Wade Ellis, Jr.
West Valley College
Mathematics Department
14000 Fruitvale Avenue
Saratoga, CA 95070-5698

Phone: 408-374-0741
Fax: 408-378-8909
Email: wade_ellis@wvmccd.cc.ca.us
(Member of the Steering Committee)

Kenneth E. Foote
Department of Geography
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX 78712-1098

Phone: 512-232-1592 (Office) 512-472-2938 (Home)
Fax: 512-471-5049
Email: k.foote@mail.utexas.edu

Edward A. Fox
Professor, Dept. of Computer Science
660 McBryde Hall, Mail Code 0106
VPI&SU (Virginia Tech)
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: 540-231-5113
Fax: 540-231-6075
Email: fox@vt.edu

Robert G. Fuller
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Dept. of Physics and Astronomy
Lincoln, NE 68588-0109

Phone: 402-472-2790
Fax: 402-472-6234

Ladnor Geissinger
University of North Carolina
Mathematics Department
CB3250 Phillips Hall
Chapel Hill, NC 27599

Phone: 919-962-9608
Fax: 919-962-2568
Email: geissinger@math.unc.edu

Forouzan Golshani
Arizona State University
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Box 5406
Tempe, AZ 85287-5406

Phone: 602-965-2855
Fax: 602-965-2751
Email: Golshani@asu.edu

Daniel Gomez
Prince George's Community College
301 Largo Road
Largo, MD 20774-2199

Phone: 301-322-0995
Fax: 301-808-0960
Email: dr2@pgstumail.pg.cc.md.us

Mario J. Gonzalez
Vice Chancellor
Telecommunications & Information Technology
The University of Texas System
Austin, TX 78701-2981

Phone: 512-499-4207
Fax: 512-499-4573
Email: mgonzalez@utsystem.edu

Judith Gradwohl
Smithsonian Without Walls
SQ3123, MRC 705
Smithsonian Institution
Washington, DC 20560

Phone: 202-357-4797
Fax: 202-786-2557
Email: jag@ic.si.edu

Peter S. Graham
Associate University Librarian
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers University Libraries
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163

Phone: 732-445-5908
Fax: 732-445-5888
Email: psgraham@rci.rutgers.edu

Kurt Gramoll
University of Oklahoma
Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
865 Asp Avenue
Norman, OK 73019

Phone: 405-325-3171
fax: 405-325-1088
Email: gramoll@ou.edu

William H. Graves
President, COLLEGIS Research Institute
Senior Vice President, COLLEGIS
P.O. Box 13314
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-13314

Phone: 919-376-3407
Fax: 919-462-6450
Email: wgraves@collegis.com

Steve Griffin
Corcoran House
Apt. 1008
1616 18th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009

Phone: 202-531-1560
Fax: 202-332-1048
Email: sgriffin@collegis.com
(Member of the Steering Committee)

Joseph A. Heim
University of Washington
Industrial Engineering, Box 352650
Seattle, WA 98195

Phone: 206-543-2308
Fax: 206-685-3072
Email: jheim@u.washington.edu

Warren W. Hein
Associate Executive Officer
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD 20740-3845

Phone: 301-209-3323
Fax: 301-209-0845
E-mail: whein@aapt.org

William C. Jennings
Professor and Chair
Electrical, Computer and Systems Engineering Department
JEC 6010
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
110 8th Street
Troy, NY 12180-3590

Phone: 518-276-6314
(or 518-276-6316, Rosan Laviolette, Admin Asst.)
Fax: 518-276-6261
Email: jenniw@rpi.edu (or rosan@ecse.rpi.edu, Rosan Laviolette)

J. A. Kampmeier
University of Rochester
86 Reservoir Ave
Rochester, NY 14620

Phone: 716-275-4441
Fax: 716-473-6889
Email: kamp@chem.rochester.edu

Professor Lawrence J. Kaplan
Department of Chemistry
Williams College
Williamstown, MA 01267

Phone: 413-597-3303
Fax: 413-597-4116
Email: lkaplan@williams.edu

John Kappelman
Professor, Department of Anthropology
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX 78712-1086

Phone: 512-471-0055
Fax: 512-471-6535
Email: jkappelman@mail.utexas.edu
(Member of the Steering Committee)

James H. Keller
Associate Director
Harvard Information Infrastructure Project
141 Larch Road
Cambridge, MA 02138

Phone: 617-547-4903 or 617-496-4042
Fax: 617-547-0425
Email: jkeller@harvard.edu

Randy Knight
California Polytechnic State University
Physics Department
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407

Phone: 805-756-1663 (Office) 805-528-6933 (Home)
Fax: 805-756-2435 or 805-528-6933
Email: rknight@calpoly.edu
(Member of the Steering Committee)

Deborah L. Knox
Department of Computer Science
The College of New Jersey
P.O. Box 7718
Ewing, NJ 08628

Phone: 609-771-2193
Fax: 609-637-5183
Email: knox@tcnj.edu

Robert Kozma
Principal Scientist
Center for Technology in Learning
SRI International
333 Ravenswood Ave.
Menlo Park, CA 94025

Phone: 650-859-3997
Fax: 650-859-4605
Email: rkozma@unix.sri.com

Robert L. Lichter
Executive Director
The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc.
555 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10022-3301

Phone: 212-753-1760
Email: rlichter@panix.com

Marcia C. Linn
University of California at Berkeley
Graduate School of Education
4611 Tolman Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-1670

Phone: 510-643-6379
Fax: 510-642-3769
Email: mclinn@socrates.berkeley.edu

Joan K. Lippincott
Associate Executive Director
Coalition for Networked Information
21 Dupont Circle
Washington, DC 20036

Phone: 202-296-5098
Fax: 202-872-0884
Email: joan@cni.org

Lynda Byrd Logan, Ph.D.
Dean of Learning Resources
Prince George's Community College
301 Largo Road
Largo, MD 20774

Phone: 301-322-0466 (Direct)
Phone: 301-322-0462 (Secretary, Marie Allman)
Fax: 301-808-8847
Email: LL5@email.pg.cc.md.us

Roxanne Baxter Mendrinos
Foothill College
12345 El Monte Road
Los Altos Hills, CA 95120

Phone: 650-949-7609
Fax: 650-949-7123
Email: mendrinos@olive.fhda.edu

Susan Millar
LEAD Center
University of Wisconsin, Madison
1402 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706

Phone: 608-265-5943
Fax: 608-265-5923
Email: smillar@engr.wisc.edu

Joseph Monroe
Dept. of Computer Science, College of Engineering
North Carolina A&T State University
Greensboro, NC 27411

Phone: 336-334-7245
Fax: 336-334-7244
Email: Monroe@ncat.edu

Beth A. Montelone
Associate Professor, Division of Biology
Kansas State University Manhattan, KS 66506-4901

Phone: 785-532-6092
Fax: 785-532-6653
Email: bethmont@ksu.edu
(Member of the Steering Committee)

Lang Moore
Duke University
Department of Mathematics
Box 90320
Durham, NC 27708-0320

Phone: 919-660-2822 (Office) 919-286-4660 (Home)
Fax: 919-660-2821
Email: lang@math.duke.edu

Jan Olsen
Vice President
Wells College
Aurora, NY 13026

Phone: 315-364-3416
Fax: 315-364-3362
Fax: 315-364-3362

Charles M. Patton
1120 Fir Acres Dr.
Eugene, OR 97401

Phone: 541-343-2545
Fax: Call first
Email blister0@nic.cerf.net

Scott Plous
Associate Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychology
Wesleyan University
207 High Street
Middletown, CT 06459-0408

Phone: 860-685-2368 (Office) 860-345-8096 (Home)
Fax: 860-685-2761
Email: splous@wesleyan.edu

Mark Resmer
Sonoma State University
1801 E Cotati Ave
Rohnert Park, CA 94928

Phone: 707-664 2889
Fax: 707-664 2505
Email: resmer@sonoma.edu

Brian Roberts
Office of the Dean
College of Liberal Arts
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX 78712

Phone: 512-471-4141
Fax: 512-471-4518
Email: roberts@mail.utexas.edu

Debra Rodriguez
Prince George's Community College
301 Largo Road
Largo, MD 20774-2199

Phone: 301-322-0995
Fax: 301-808-0960
Email: dr2@pgstumail.pg.cc.md.us

Harry Roy
Professor of Biology, Biology Dept.
1W14 Science Center
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Troy, NY 12180-3590

Phone: 518-276-8170
Fax: 518-276-2344
Email: royh@rpi.edu

Carol Scheftic
University Center for Teacher Education
California Polytechnic State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407-0389

Phone: 805-756-1574
Fax: 805-756-5682
Email: scheftic@calpoly.edu

Elaine Seymour, Director
Ethnography & Evaluation Research
The University of Colorado, Boulder.
Bureau of Sociological Research,
Campus Box 580
Boulder, CO 80309

Phone 303-492-0084
Fax: 303-492-2154
Email: seymour@spot.colorado.edu

Richard J. Shakarchi
The Ohio State University
Dept. of Psychology - Social Area
1885 Neil Avenue Mall
Columbus, OH 43210-1222

Phone: 614-231-3447
Fax: Call to arrange
Email: shakarchi.1@postbox.acs.ohio-state.edu

Mark Sheffield
2215 College Ave. #273
Manhattan, KS 66502

Phone: (785)532-7967 (Daytime) (785)539-5309 (Home)
Email: mshef@ksu.edu

James H. Stith
Director of Physics Programs
American Institute of Physics
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD 20740-3843

Phone: 301-209-3126
Fax: 301-209-0841
Email: jstith@aip.org

Eric W. van Ammers
Wageningen Agricultural University
Department of Computer Science
Dreijenplein 2
6703 HB Wageningen
The Netherlands

Phone: +31 (0) 317 483356
Fax: +31 (0) 317 483158
Email: Eric.vanAmmers@users.info.wau.nl

Frank Wattenberg
Division of Undergraduate Education
National Science Foundation
Suite 835
4201 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington VA 22230

Phone: 703-306-1665 ext. 5912
Fax: 703-306-0445
Email: fwattenb@nsf.gov
(NSF Liaison)

Gabriele Wienhausen
Vice Chair for Education
Department of Biology
University of California , San Diego
9500 Gilman Dr.
La Jolla, CA 92093-0355

Phone: 619-534 -3018
Fax: 619-534 -1835
Email: gwienhausen@ucsd.edu

Bonnie Wilson
Corporation for National Research Initiatives
1895 Preston White Drive
Suite 100
Reston, VA 20191

Phone: 703-620-8990
Fax: 703-620-0913
Email: bwilson@cnri.reston.va.us

Jack M. Wilson
Dean of Faculty (Acting)
J. Erik Jonsson '22 Distinguished Professor
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Troy, NY 12180

Phone: 518-276-4853
Fax: 518-276-4061
Email: wilsoj@rpi.edu

Donald J. Wink
Associate Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago
Department of chemistry (m/c 111)
845 W. Taylor Street
Chicago, IL 60607

Phone: 312-413-7383
Fax: 312-996-0431
Email: dwink@uic.edu

Kate Wittenberg
Columbia University Press
562 West 113th Street
New York, NY 10025

Phone: 212-666-1000, ext. 7119
Fax: 212-316-3100
Email: kw49@columbia.edu

Wayne Wolf
Princeton University
Department of Electrical Engineering
Princeton, NJ 08544

Phone: 609-258-1424
Fax: 609-258-3745
Email: wolf@princeton.edu

Lee L. Zia
University of New Hampshire
325 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301

Phone: 603-862-2674 (Office) 603-226-4730 (Home)
Email: lee.zia@unh.edu

Dean Zollman
Department of Physics
116 Cardwell Hall
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506-2601

Phone: 785-532-1619
Fax: 785-532-7167
Email: dzollman@phys.ksu.edu

The SMETE-Lib web pages and mailing list are hosted by D-Lib with support from NSF's Division of Undergraduate Education.

D-Lib D-Lib

Last revised: September 4, 1998